finally

managed to get off my butt and run. I’m not quite sure why it took me so long, but it was great.  I decided to avoid that hill that I finished on last time (is that what was holding me back?) and just ran straight south. That takes me to a park with some wooded trails. It was really nice. A very light rain meant I had the entire place to myself. You’d think that around here a little mist wouldn’t keep people inside, but perhaps that has more to do with my suburban location than my geographical one. Regardless, the trails were nice. Soft but not too soft, I really enjoy that earthy sponge after a few days of rain (I know that wasn’t my issue). I was a little conscious of my knees today- nothing hurt but I got the message loud and clear from both sides that I needed to be aware of what I was doing if I didn’t want to hurt myself again. Message received. The only issue was the puddle lake in what I’m sure is the only flat spot on those trails. I figured I could make it if I took a running jump. I have no idea if I would have made it or not. What I thought was going to be my push-off step turned into a soaking. The ground wasn’t as stable as I was expecting and my foot ended up drenched/stained with decomposing plant matter. C’est la vie. One thing I know for certain is that I will be getting a pair of capris. The pants I wore today are just a little big (from the very first time I started running 20 lbs ago). On a dry day it’s no big deal but I had to keep stopping to cuff my pants. In the end, I had to ring them out and roll them all the way up to just under my knees. Fine. I will buy the hated capris. And yes, I will pretend I’m invisible every time I wear them.

Leave a Reply

