yesterday and today

Belated posting due to a need to snuggle with Hubs on the couch while watching a movie so awful that I will never repeat it’s title and enjoying a grown-up drink (or two).

I started my day off yesterday with what was supposed to be an easy conversational paced run. I’m not sure I can do that without someone else. Regardless of my seeming inability to not run at least at a moderate pace, I felt really good. I was planning on running the trails again, but the parks department people haven’t finished with the new cedar. The smell was overpowering, and they were using micro sized steam rollers to squash the chips down so it was deafening even over my music. Hopefully they will be finished and the smell will have dissipated by Tuesday since I plan to avoid the trails until then. I did the rest of my run on the streets and the gravel green belt trails. It was so pretty! The weather is just unbelievably nice. It was chilly, but I actually wore shorts. First time ever! They didn’t fit as well as I was hoping, but after reflecting for a minute I realized it’s most likely because they were purchased roughly 10 lbs ago. The curse of always being between sizes, I guess. I’ve needed to make the switch to shorts (as I still haven’t buckled in to buy a pair of capris) because I’ve overheated fairly quickly on my recent runs. I’ve also started my post-run showers with cold water ( in lieu of an ice bath) and I think it’s making a difference. And as a bonus, I’m not cranking the hot all the way up like I usually do. The water heater in our house is perfectly sized to provide ample hot water to a single Smurf, so this really is a good thing. As for today. I haven’t taken a rest day this week but I’m not sure that I want to do it. I think I’ll do yard work and call it a half-rest day. I’m feeling really good, so the idea of taking a rest day makes me feel a little lazy/guilty. We’ll see how lazy/guilty I feel after an hour of pushing the mower around sloping front and back yards. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Maybe I’ll just sneak in a mile this afternoon. For serious purposes only. My Nike+ sensor is a little off and if I’m going to use it I really ought to calibrate it.

Usually I turn my Nike+ on as soon as I’m out the door, and include my warm up and cool down in the total workout. No real benefit either way, but yesterday I wanted to see what my real running pace was, sans the slower paced bookends. It made a HUGE difference in my pace! I knew it would make a difference, but I’m riding high on the time difference. It’s almost 1:30 faster than my official pace at the VD5K. Awesome! I’m really looking forward to my race next Sunday. Hubs and I are picking up our packets on Friday and then we’re going to hit the costume store. I’ll definitely post a picture of my ensemble. And in the don’t-hold-your-breath column of life, Hubs has mentioned that he might be willing to go on my longer, conversational paced runs with me. The poor dear. He’s 8-9 inches taller than I am and I think it’s all leg. He’ll probably have to speed walk instead. The company would be nice, though.

2 thoughts on “yesterday and today

  1. Oh, you’re more stoic than I am – I can’t do cold showers/ice baths! I’m sure once I’m running long enough to really need them I’ll reconsider, but… ๐Ÿ™‚

    Rest days are AWESOME and super important! But I think doing yard work sort of counts.

  2. It helps to jump in right after a chilly run. My thighs are already close to numb so the water doesn’t even feel cold. By the time summer rolls around, I’ll probably love it!

Leave a Reply

