taking time off

I’m not really sure how to take a break. My knee (and all the literature) is clearly stating that a break is necessary. I’m one of those all-or-nothing people. If I’m running, I’m doing it HARD. It’s the reason I have a hard time doing speed work and easy runs. I run every distance like it’s a freaking 400 meter dash (unless it’s hot out, then it’s like a death-shuffle). But I want to be able to run for many years and I don’t want to get to the point where I have to take 6 months off to do a bunch of PT. Which we all know I wouldn’t do anyway. I am to avoid doing any type of squat and stairs (tell that to the house). Except that the ache has moved from where it has been the last week or so to the old spot. All this week it’s been the inside, near the top of my knee cap, in a muscular spot. Now it’s on the outside, right at the top of my fibula.

This sucks.

the definition of obsession

I’m back to obsessing about knee injuries. It might as well be April 2009. Or February 2008. Or any other date since about 1997. I can see very clearly where this is headed: my ass parked on the couch with my trio of (not) best guys: Tim, and these two, watching every film to ever win a Razzie. Have no fear: I don’t need to be put on suicide watch (aka cookie dough ice cream and a rom-com fest). Side note: me sitting through a romantic comedy would be a clear sign that I had just endured either electroshock therapy or a lobotomy (which suddenly puts me in the mood to watch One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest…)

I digress. I guess now is the time to figure out the schedule at the local pool, and to take my new bike helmet for a test ride. Candid moment: I’m petrified of riding on the streets here. Drivers are oblivious to other cars and I can only imagine it’s exponentially worse with a bike. But I won’t know until I try it, right? I think I’ll take it out this afternoon (residential streets only). Just because I’m taking a break from running (my one true love) doesn’t mean that I need to graft myself to the couch. I am not suddenly a double amputee or paralyzed. I know that doesn’t stop some people, but I’m not sure that I’m one of them were it to happen to me.

I’ll leave you with this quote:

‘If you can neither accept it or change it, try to laugh at it.’ — Ashleigh Brilliant

Let’s give it a try. Haha, Knee. You’re funny looking. Coco Chanel was right: you should always be covered up so no one has to look at you. Haha. It’s so funny that you’re being a butthead. Haha. It’s hilarious that I’m not sure where I’m going to get my endorphins and that everyone I know is going to suffer because I’m going to turn into a junkie in withdrawal because you are being a brat. Ha. Ha. AAAAAAARRRRRRRRGGGGGGGHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Okay, that started off fine and deteriorated quickly. It’s sunny outside, so I think I’ll quit my pity party early and get on with life.

One thought on “taking time off

  1. Okay, I should have caught up on all of your posts before I commented on your last one – ignore that one, and GOOD FOR YOU for taking a break even though you don’t want to. It’s the best thing to do.

Leave a Reply

