Living in a Newtonian World

And I am a Newtonian girl… I’m not apologizing to Madonna since she’s never apologized for her “acting”. To you I apologize: Hubs’ habit of singing songs with creative lyrics has obviously become a habit of mine. If only my habit of putting dirty laundry IN the hamper (instead of next to it) would become a habit of his.


I am of course referring to Newton’s Laws of Motion, specifically the first. It also happens to be the only one I’ve ever remembered. If you had my high school physics teacher you would realize that’s a huge accomplishment. Okay, I know the other two, but I wouldn’t have been able to name them as the 2nd and 3rd laws. Not even for Final Jeopardy. They were just two more random facts, buried in gray matter.


Hello, my name is Inertia. I’ve stopped moving. It has been either 8 days or an entire lifetime since my last run. On the one hand, I’m losing my mind. On the other much more frightening hand, I’m getting used to this. My weight seems to be fairly stable, although not drinking my water + light alcohol consumption + mini sodium binge = not gonna be pretty, no matter what. Tomorrow is scale day, so I’ll find out for real then. And I can find out just how much my breakfast and clothing weigh when I’m at the doctor. I’m curious anyway.

I haven’t worked out how I’m going to ease back into things, but I’ll figure it out tomorrow. Depending on the verdict, of course. He isn’t going to tell me to quit running. I know that. Even if that is his personal opinion, he won’t say it to me. He’s been the family doctor for too long to think I would listen to that sort of advice. My dad is very athletic and has a healthy (in my opinion) lack of respect for medical opinions. Doc knows where I come from. I think I’m a slightly better listener than my dad which is probably why he’s gung-ho about doctor visits while I wait until my appendix is exploding for the operation (true story). Regardless, he’s just going to give me some recommendations to make running more enjoyable (aka no screaming in pain). And I feel like I can be honest with him about what I’m willing to do (OTC orthotics are fine but I’m not getting custom ones).

I’m thinking about going vegetarian. I did it back in the day, but I didn’t do it right so it wasn’t healthy (bread and cheese are not the pillars of a healthy diet). I already don’t eat red meat or pork. I like chicken, but I’m not willing to touch it raw. I love me some sea kitten, so that will stay in my diet no matter what. I like eggs most of the time. Cheese and yogurt are my 4th and 9th true loves. I guess what I’m getting at is that I’m a long way from considering a vegan diet, but I’m fine with that. I actually don’t like the labels at all because I eat what I like, when I like. Which explains why I’m at the heavy end of my preferred weight range.

18 hours to go…

Leave a Reply

