Relay for Life Reminder

I’ve got 16 days until the big night. As a refresher, I’ve teamed up with some old friends and we are participating in the American Cancer Society’s Relay for Life, UW version. Here’s the link to my earlier post about it.

I proposed that $1 = 5 minutes of walking (limited only by the 18 hour event) OR $10= 1 mile of running (capped at 10.5 miles to meet my personal fundraising goal)

This is where you come in. Your hard-earned dollars help support the fight against cancer. Something that has touched all of us in different ways. I’m not going to ramble on about it, because we all know it sucks.

Right now, my shirt only has 3 names on it. Sad, huh? Okay, so if you didn’t click the link before now is the time, since that doesn’t make sense if you haven’t. Just a note: let me know if it is in honor of or in memory of each person. I’ll be using different colors for each. πŸ™‚

One awesome supporter has already requested purchased a run: 3 miles at 3am. I had to just blink at that thought a few times, but I’m excited for the challenge!

So which block of time will you buy and am I walking or running it? There are only 7.5 miles available for running at this point, so let’s get that filled! Anything above that goes towards meeting my team’s goal.

As a reminder, everyone who supports me in this will be entered into a drawing for a prize. I’ve been kicking around the idea of a gift certificate to Chocomize, Mix My Granola, iTunes, or Bondi Band. Any preferences? Alternative suggestions?

Please make a donation and spread the word! As my Fearless Leader says, “let’s kick cancer’s ass!”

5 thoughts on “Relay for Life Reminder

  1. Thanks moonpie!! For you, I will run a new personal best in the mile at 1 am. See how I’m gonna roll with that theme? Send me an email if you want me to include any names on my shirt (and if it’s honor or memory, too). πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: New identity/Relay | a journey of 26.2 miles begins with a blog

Leave a Reply

