living in a timewarp

I’m blowing off my class tonight. I just can’t sit through it. I have a take home test due and I’m just emailing it to him. I simply can’t take it. Imagine me doing a Scarlett O’Hara back-of-the-hand-to-my-forehead impression when reading that last sentence. I think it adds ambiance to my whining complaining revealing of factual information.

I finally went for a run in the new neighborhood! Even with the peek-a-boo sidewalks, it was so much better than in B-town. Hubs doesn’t have to get up as early in the morning for work so I’m considering switching to morning runs. Read that again. MORNING RUNS. As much as I enjoy my late afternoon/evening runs, it’s not going to be practical in the summer. It was hot on my run today! And by hot I mean it was around 65 degrees. So maybe the issue is that I’m dehydrated and not the “heat”. Whatever. I actually like the idea of getting up in the mornings, although we know it’s not my natural inclination. I just did 20 minutes since my commute is like 500 times longer. used a new piece of equipment that I’m embarrassed/excited to tell you about. But not now. I actually have to finish typing my take home test and then email it to my professor. I’m just telling him I can’t make it to class tonight and not going into the why part.

I do have to share one of the questions we could choose to answer: “Why purpose do such forms serve in culture?” I would assume there was originally another part to it, but that’s all that’s listed. Although, this is coming from a man who has a picture of a dinosaur Jesus as his Facebook profile and uses Borat and M.I.A. as teaching tools. So perhaps he meant that as a question.

I’m getting really excited for my Girls on the Run 5k! So remember how I said I wasn’t going to do the Monkey 5k (trail run raising $$ for the search and rescue peeps) because it would be too much? About that. Here’s how my 5/22-5/23 schedule will look.

  • Saturday 8am-noon: Girls on the Run 5k plus some type of carnival thing afterward
  • noon-2: eat, get myself from south Seattle to the UW campus for Relay
  • 2pm- Sunday 8am: run,walk, take photos, blog & tweet about all of it
  • 8am: drag butt across town to Alki for a 5k (which starts around 10am?)
  • whenever I stumble across the finish line: tape eyelids open & drive home before passing out until Monday at 3:30 pm when I need to leave for school.

Awesome plan, right? I’m actually really excited and I’m glad that SeattleRunnerGirl let me in on the secret that is the Alki 5k. Little known fact: Ballard is not my true homeland. I actually came into this world on First Hill, but lived in the ghetto that is the Highpoint neighborhood of West Seattle until I was 3 1/2. My dad called our house the ‘yellow submarine’ (it was on the small side, and meringue-y in color). Highpoint is now full of brand new “green” project housing, but I just saw on the news that someone (a mother running?) was stabbed (10+ times?) there last weekend. I guess the more things change, the more they stay the same. So, anyway. West Seattle will always have a soft spot in my heart, although my yellow submarine is no longer yellow. Also, this race is FLAT which is a relative rarity for Seattle.

This is way off on a tangent, but it’s really awkward listening to 18 year olds flirt. Also, a sweater vest is to be worn over a shirt at all times. Your wife-beater doesn’t count. Thankfully, those two observations are completely separate. Otherwise, I’d feel the need to pass on the wise words from the krill in Finding Nemo: “Swim away! Swim away!” Or maybe that it was the slugs in Flushed Away: “Run away! Run away!”

Overheard any funny/awkward/strange conversations? Any fashion faux pas? (not in the that’s-not-in-this-issue-of-Vogue way, but in the honestly-it’s-not-okay-to-wear-panties-as-pants-because-that’s-why-they-are-called-underpants way.)

One thought on “living in a timewarp

Leave a Reply

