wow

Hot yoga. Well. Let’s preface this by saying that in the past, I took a beginning yoga class that started at 7 am, which at the time required me to get up at 5:30 to get on the bus to be there on time. That was 8 years ago and I was less of a morning person then than I am today. Needless to say, I didn’t make it to class very often. I’ve always prided myself on being fairly flexible. That held true right up until I started running regularly. NOTE TO SELF: TRY STRETCHING AFTER A RUN. My hamstrings might as well be carved out of marble these days. That analogy isn’t supposed to reference my skin color, but in this case I suppose it covers both my epidermal pigmentation and my current flexibility status.

The run was nice. It really helps me to run with someone because I have this belief that everyone and their grandmother has a better concept of pacing than I do. So far, it holds true. It’s especially nice since my latest pair of headphones crapped out on Sunday. You might not remember this, but I bought them to replace the ones that Napoleon used to test out the sharpness of his scissors. Cute, right? Yeah. I’m beginning to think I should get a mid-range pair instead of the cheap ones. I can’t in good conscience spend $$ on a pair as I’m not sure that the scissor-testing phase is over yet.

Yoga. What can I say? What did I learn? It’s freaking hot. Like 110 degrees F in a room. My left side is considerably weaker than my right, at least regarding balance. My back has no flexibility, and my right hamstring actually seized up a few hours after class. BUT. I had so much fun doing it! It was almost always challenging, but never impossible. Okay, maybe that one pose which involved balancing on my weak left foot and extending my right leg as far as it would go in front of me (spoiler alert: not very far) was darned near impossible. BUT. I’ll be able to do it better the next time I go. Which might be this Friday after my psychology seminar. That will be a good way to swing into my super crazy weekend! And I’ll be doing it Monday morning, too.

I’m making my shirt with all the names today for the Relay event. Right after I hang 90000 (read: 10) curtains. After I install all the curtain rods. I’m typing that with a grin on my face because I love checking things off my mental ‘to do’ list.

Remember that teaser I posted a while back? All will be revealed later this week. 😉

6 thoughts on “wow

    • I know! I was eying that site since my mat was apparently used as a kitty scratching tool at some point. 😦

  1. I’ve been looking into Bikram myself. Will have to try. AND, I’m taking my calendar to the gym tomorrow to write down the class schedules so I can start getting some yoga, kickboxing, spinning ANDDDD yoga stretch and zumba in. Gotta take advantage of all my gym has to offer before it expires!

    Stretching DEFINITELY helps after a run. I really enjoy running with music, but I’ve read that if you practice without music, you actually become more rooted with the ground you run on and your motions will become more fluid, plus your breathing will be more controlled since all you hear is your own breathing.

    Hm, I might have to try that myself tomorrow.

    • I have no choice at this point. But I also keep the volume down to 1/4-1/3 of the max and only one earbud in. I like to hear cars/people. I’ve been good about stretching after my runs since my injury in March, but I haven’t been consistent with my runs… If it’s not one thing, it’s another, right? lol

Leave a Reply

