running with a HRM and then some

I finally gave my Polar F4 a test run (pun regretfully intended) this morning. I don’t know if I can do it. It had me running soooooooooo slow. Over a minute per mile slower than normal just to try to keep my heart rate in the “range” it wanted for me.

It was strange to focus on my speed in that way. Usually it’s more of a “Push! Faster!” not a “Slow down so the watch stops beeping!” mental game about my pace. I guess I’ll have to dig out the manual and see what I can do about adjusting the settings.

My hip didn’t bother me at all today. Amazing, I know. Maybe I naturally overstride? More likely, it’s all in my head. I’m beginning to suspect that most all of my problems are up there. So maybe I’m a little slow I like to be really sure about the cause of something before I go jumping to conclusions all willy-nilly.

And I need to go earlier in the day. I didn’t get out of bed until 7:30 this morning and it was borderline hot on the second half of my run. My ability to accurately guess the temperature is inversely related to my level of physical activity. I was quite sure that the temp was somewhere around 68, only to find out it was more like 54. I still think I’m right. 54 degrees simply does not allow for the runner’s equivalent of wind chill factor aka extra steep hill + direct sunshine.

And yes, I know I’m a temperature baby. Always have been, always will be. It’s a side effect of living in a temperate zone. I think I could get used to cold better than heat, but maybe that’s just because it’s summer. 😉

2 thoughts on “running with a HRM and then some

  1. Hmmm…first run out with the HRM, slower pace, and non-achey hips? Methinks there might be a correlation there! I’m glad the run went well AND that your didn’t have any hip pain. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

