Sole Mates and my first giveaway!

It’s time to get serious about my fundraising efforts for Sole Mates. Sole Mates being the adult fundraising arm (I suppose ‘leg’ would be better?) of Girls on the Run. New to GOTR? Just skimmed it when I posted about it last?

Girls on the Run (GOTR):

Mission: To educate and prepare girls for a life time of self-respect and healthy living.

Objectives: The objective of Girls on the Run is to educate and empower girls at an early age in order to prevent the display of at-risk activities in the future. At risk activities include substance/alcohol use, eating disorders, early onset of sexual activity, sedentary lifestyle, depression, suicide attempts and confrontations with the juvenile justice system.

Sole Mates:

SoleMates is the adult charity running leg of Girls on the Run® (GOTR). We are male and female athletes who pursue individual goals, such as running a marathon or participating in a triathlon, to raise money for local Girls on the Run® councils.

I chose to get involved with Girls on the Run as a Running Buddy originally. I had a great time doing it, but it wasn’t as rewarding as I had hoped for (note: I have a thank you letter and photos of my Little Buddy on the wall above my computer). I still plan on running in their semi-annual 5ks, but in all honesty, Sole Mates is more my thing. Sole Mates gives me the ability to help girls while pushing myself to new heights. When I’m running, I often wonder where I would be if I had participated in a program like GOTR. Hearing their message before the onset of puberty could have saved me a world of hurt, both emotional and physical. And I know I’m not alone in that.

Go back up and reread the objectives of GOTR, I’ll wait. As people who are women/love women/love future women (aka girls), we can all agree that we wouldn’t want our loved ones to experience any of those at-risk behaviors. We want our sisters, daughters, cousins, nieces, granddaughters and friends to be happy with who they are and where they are in their lives. Help me help an amazing organization reach girls before the damage is done.

I have registered with Sole Mates to participate in my first marathon (soon to be known worldwide as a double Pikermi), the Amica Seattle Marathon, being held November 28, 2010. My fundraising commitment for Sole Mates is only $262. Because it’s a relatively small minimum compared to some other organizations I wanted to approach it in a fun way.

My personal fundraising goal is to get donations from 262 people.

Someone might want to double-check my math, but I’m quite sure that works out to a minimum donation of $1 per person. Not that above and beyond isn’t something to strive for, but I would really love to hit my secondary goal of 262 individual donations.

Which leads us to this point: I need you to click this link right here, and donate your $1. Then help me spread the word to others.

At the brilliant suggestion of Tara (who is doing her own amazing fundraising now), I’ll be picking up the tab for an entry fee to the Girls on the Run 5k* being held December 4th, at Seward Park.** That way, you get to see your donation in action. Which is quite possibly one of life’s most rewarding experiences, ever.

All you need to do is make your donation and leave a comment. Link back to this post with your twitter, facebook, blog for extra entries (one post per link, pretty please).

*Don’t run? No problem. 5ks often have walking waves, and from experience, I know this one will have plenty of walkers. I might be one of them this year. Don’t run yet? Now’s your chance to start running.

**We can substitute with a closer GOTR 5k if you aren’t ready to travel to Seattle in December, as unimaginable as that is to me. 😉

Official details: the giveaway opens as soon as I publish this post and ends Friday, August 13 at 10pm Pacific time. I will then wave my magic wand (aka enter all the data at random.org) and one number shall rise above the others, because has The Highlander explained so well, there can be only one.

Thank you!

ETA: Decided it would make more sense to have the winner choose their own 5k/fun run.

9 thoughts on “Sole Mates and my first giveaway!

  1. Pingback: surviving Tom Douglas | a journey of 26.2 miles begins with a blog

  2. Pingback: I’m ignoring you | a journey of 26.2 miles begins with a blog

  3. Pingback: W.I.D.T.H. | a journey of 26.2 miles begins with a blog

  4. Pingback: quicksand | a journey of 26.2 miles begins with a blog

Leave a Reply

