that was a first (and hopefully last)

Yesterday was my first day back in the land of starches. (Tara was ordered off starches by her trainer, and I volunteered to abstain along with her.) I had a little granola in the morning, but I didn’t go as crazy as I told myself I could go when I was in the thick of it. Dinner, however… We did fish tacos last night. I had two of those microscopic corn tortillas, along with a very small portion of rice*. Not out of control at all. Except that I made pico de gallo and apparently felt the need to try to eat the whole huge bowl by myself. Which would have been fine, except the tortilla chips didn’t go over too well with my stomach, maybe because I tried to eat half the bag.

Then it was time for my run. I had to go a little earlier than I wanted because a) I didn’t want to run in the dark and b) Hubs was going out for a drink to celebrate a coworker’s birthday.

I didn’t have time to get to my big hill, so I just ran the neighborhood. It was the most physically painful run of my life. Note to self – you already knew this was a bad idea, but you did it anyway. You deserved what you got.

I didn’t make the connection at first between my suddenly active salivary glands and what was about to happen, especially since my stomach didn’t hurt at that point. I made it to my front yard before I could no longer deny the inevitable. I managed to make it inside before I unswallowed anything, but… it was not pleasant. And I will do everything I can to make sure it doesn’t happen again.

And now for a rest day. 🙂

*Rice was one of my instantaneously nauseating foods when I was pregnant. I’m still not completely over it, so rice is a rare thing in my diet these days.

ETA: I added a daily mile button over on the right so you can follow my training if you care about the numbers (*yawn*). It was supposed to be the box with the numbers in it, but if you click on it you will be magically transported to my dailymile page. 🙂

2 thoughts on “that was a first (and hopefully last)

Leave a Reply

