all’s well that ends well

Yesterday was not a very fun day around here. Bubs was sick, which is so tough to watch as a parent. I wasn’t sure if I would have the energy at the end of the day to get in my run and core workout.

I honestly debated pushing back my run and core work until today. Until I remembered that is the mentality that leads to skipping all runs and my depressed self becoming one with the couch while watching telenovelas and using potato chips to shovel ice cream into my gaping jaw. (Disclaimer: I’ve never really done that. Nor would I. Ice cream would totally ruin the joy that is potato chips.)

I started slowly, by just getting into my running clothes. That didn’t leave me feeling completely exhausted which I took as a good sign. So I headed out the door, reminding myself to take it slow because I was already exhausted and not feeling 100% myself.

I did 4 miles out and back in 40 minutes. The out part was 22 minutes, including a fixing-the-pigtails hair malfunction (impossible to fix while running with a water bottle). The back was in 18 minutes. The second two miles felt so good! I’m really looking forward to doing a speed session on Wednesday. Yes, I said that and yes, I meant it. Don’t forget that I’m a reformed softball player, so my athletic training was to move as quickly as you can over a very short distance. Half of the running battle for me has been to redefine “short” and “long” distance. Well, “half” in the Yogi Berra sense of the word (“Baseball is ninety percent mental and the other half is physical”).

Anyway, my run felt great, although I had three separate incidences along the lines of the gentleman in the black Acura, so now I’m entertaining thoughts about carrying pepper spray.

I also did my Hard CORE Club workout for the first time. I felt really strong at the beginning, but I am no push-upper, so once I got to that point things definitely got hard. The routine is:

  • 30 crunches
  • 25 bicycle kicks (each side)
  • 30 second supine bridge
  • 30 second leg lift
  • 25 ankle grabbers (each side)
  • 25 diamond in the sky
  • 30 second hip lift
  • 45 second plank
  • 30 second lower back stretch
  • 20 push ups
  • 20 shoulder taps (each side)
  • 15 reps Superman
  • 30 seconds side bridge (each side)

I had to break the leg lift into two parts, but other than that I was fine until the push ups. By ‘fine’ I mean that I was doing them. I was certainly feeling them while I did it, but it was neither extraordinarily difficult nor too easy. Then there were the push ups. I have what might be the world’s weakest upper arms (note to self: there IS a reason for this). I did the first 10 pretty well. Hubs said I have good push up form (in a moderately surprised tone). The only problem? I can’t go all the way down. I’m looking forward to seeing this improve. I did the last 10, but Hubs commented that I must be tired because my form was deteriorating. Thanks, Hon. Shoulder taps are new territory for me. All I can say is that perhaps they would be easier if I did them before the push ups? Side planks were fine, but not fun.

I’m feeling really inspired with my exercise at this point which I’m loving!

Coming soon: reviews of my new running skirt & water bottle.

Don’t forget to enter my second giveaway. Keep it for yourself or give it to a friend!

2 thoughts on “all’s well that ends well

  1. Great job getting your workouts in! It *is* hard not to skip sometimes, but I always feel SO much better when I stick to my planned workout. (Unless I’m injured or reallllly need a rest day, but you know what I mean.)

    Is Bubs better??

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention all’s well that ends well | a journey of 26.2 miles begins with a blog -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

