Did I ever tell you how lucky you are?

Mizfit and I share a love of Dr. Seuss (her’s is definitely more eye-catching, but he is one of two authors after whom I named my son, so it’s just different expressions of the same love).

Thank goodness for all the things you are not! Thank goodness you’re not something someone forgot, and left all alone in some punkerish place like a rusty tin coat hanger hanging in space.

That’s why I say, “Duckie! Don’t grumble! Don’t stew! Some critters are much-much, oh, ever so much-much, so muchly much-much more unlucky than you!”

I know comparisons can quickly lead in unhealthy directions, but in this moment, in this space, I think I can handle it. Because a bitchy IT band isn’t so bad in the scheme of things. It forces me to be inside my head in a way I wasn’t prepared to be, to be alone with thoughts that I would desperately love to push away while on a mind clearing run. But I can and will make it through this bump in the road in one piece.

Text and title are lovingly borrowed from Dr. Seuss’ book “Did I Ever Tell You How Lucky You Are?”

2 thoughts on “Did I ever tell you how lucky you are?

Leave a Reply

