the difference a week makes

I did an 11 mile run on Monday. I opted to do 4 loops around the Bog.

There was a time when one loop was all I could manage. It took just about everything I had to make it the 2.8 miles. I thought about that a lot in my second and third loops. Not the 4th. About 1/10th of a mile into that last loop I started debating whether to use my bobby pin to amputate my right leg. That lasted me a good 1 1/2 miles. Then I saw a woman pushing her 2 year old TRIPLETS in a triple-wide stroller. So I spent the next mile alternately thanking God that it wasn’t me* and fantasizing about how much harder that must be than my singleton.

I made good time on my first loop (subtracting the 5 minute wait-my-turn-for-the-bathroom break, since the big multiple stall bathroom was still locked). It was somewhere about 1/3 of the way through my second loop when my knee started to hurt.

Sometimes a short walk break helped and other times it made it worse. I had lots and lots of time to think about how my stride was affecting my knee. And it definitely is. I need to work on shifting to a midfoot strike (when I remember to do this it helps immensely) and more squats. This run took as long as last week’s 10 miles PLUS my half hour meltdown in my car (aka if I were completely healthy I should easily be able to finish the half in less time than this run took. At this moment, I’ll be elated just to finish.)

It was once explained to me by a physical therapist that many women walk by using the quads to pull the leg up, rather than the glutes to push off. I didn’t ask for a source, and I haven’t looked for anything to back up her statement (because I already know I’ll find 8497503487 supporting her and an equal number dismissing her opinion).

When it comes to junk in the trunk, I am (sadly) built like a hatchback. My mother refers to this as a ‘Swedish butt’ which might make sense if we were even remotely Swedish. I’ve seen their calendar girls, so I think this might be more of a reference to their pancakes and not a physiological comment on the entire population.

Point being, I need to do some work back there. Also, I know better than to quit doing PT when things start to feel better. I quit rolling my hamstrings last week because I felt good.

Yeah, I know. And I paid for that choice yesterday. So rolling my leg is no longer in the ‘choices’ section of my life. Going back to doing it twice a day. Every day. Until I get a bionic leg.

As for the blister on the blister that I got… Fine. I get it. Those shoes are not for runs over 6 miles in length. Lesson learned.

That little sinus thing I had going on last week has migrated into my lungs. I have a temporary smoker’s cough. I think that might have something to do with my pace.

I hope this doesn’t sound like whining or bitching. The run wasn’t what I would have hoped, but I did it. None of the sucky things (pace, blisters, cold) out weigh the fact that I didn’t back out on this. I’m not upset by how it turned out. Not every run will be great, but every run can be a learning experience. And darned if I didn’t learn a thing or two yesterday.

I might have been partly inspired by the guy I saw out there running in a full knee brace. Also, partially horrified that I might be looking into my future. I wanted to hug him and/or cry every time we passed each other.

Also, Nestle chocolate milk > Darigold chocolate milk. Hubs says it’s because Nestle probably doesn’t use real milk. I think Darigold is abusing the chocolate syrup.

*Not that I wouldn’t love them with my whole heart if I were to become the parent of triplets, but still. I probably wouldn’t be able to muster the energy to leave the house from the time they were born until they started kindergarten.

Half marathon is on Sunday.

7 thoughts on “the difference a week makes

  1. “Not every run will be great, but every run can be a learning experience.” SO TRUE. I’m sorry I couldn’t make it, but I’ll be there next Monday if that works for you. Or you just pick a day for another run and let me know. Anyways, you DID it. That’s what all this stuff is about – getting it done, goodbadorugly. Keep it up!

  2. Cue music *The Final Countdown* by Europe.

    You so got this in the bag Boobear. It won’t be easy but you’ll finish. Want to know why? Cause you’re a bad ass!!! And because you’re gonna want the 13.1 sticker I’m buying for you. That’s why!

  3. Cue music *The Final Countdown* by Europe.

    You so got this in the bag Boobear. It won’t be easy but you’ll finish. Want to know why? Cause you’re a bad ass!!! And because you’re gonna want the 13.1 sticker I’m buying for you. That’s why!

Leave a Reply

