not running related

But I will mention running twice.

One- went for a run on Friday. 1 mile. It was not pretty, but it felt good.

Two- it’s snowing and I’m totally going running again today. Girls on the Run got canceled, but I’m going for my own run. It’s a rare opportunity ’round these here parts so I plan on taking advantage of it. And then thanking any/everything for the fact that I don’t live in a place were I have to deal with snow regularly.

Main point ofย  blog- somehow my main email address has been hacked. As in, someone changed my password and I can’t access my account. They changed my backup/secondary account so I am not receiving the password resetting emails. Google has a form to fill out and promises to get back to you within 24 hours. It has now been 23 hours since I first discovered it.And I’m still waiting on that email.

I have wasted the last day of my life changing email settings for accounts all over the place, changing passwords left and right… Wracking my brain about what sort of financial information might be stored in a folder in that account. I have a firm belief in an empty inbox and dozens of folders. I also have a firm belief in not storing banking information in my email or at online stores that I frequent, but without being able to verify anything right now, I just don’t know.

I find it disturbing just how much of my life in linked to that account THAT I NOW CANNOT ACCESS.

So I’m going to leave the coffee shop, walk home with my boys and try not to cry anymore about this. Thankfully, I bank with a credit union and I know they are tops if they suspect anything fraudulent. If any money ends up being stolen, it will be recovered. If stupid spam messages are sent, me and my inbox will have a good laugh about it.

After I get my life back.

8 thoughts on “not running related

  1. Boo – that really sucks! Marc’s e-mail got hacked recently, too. All for sending out stupid spam e-mails, which I just don’t get. I hope you get it figured out soon and that there are no serious repercussions! Enjoy your run in the snow today, you crazy girl! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Miraculously got back in, after resetting my password. Have no idea what happened because Google never responded. Nothing more serious with Marc’s email? That’s something of a relief anyway. Still feels violating.

  2. Sorry to hear about your email, that’s really lame. Same thing happened to my mom about 2 months ago, and it sucks big time. I would change all your passwords, request new credit cards, all that stuff. Assume that they had access to anything and everything that’s gone through your email. It really is scary to think about how much of our personal information travels through our inbox, and what that means if it manages to get hacked.

    • What I don’t get is that no emails were sent out, all of my folders are still there, there have been no attempts to use any of my banking info (even though there was nothing saved in my email)… For all intents and purposes it appears that nothing was done other than changing my password. Note to self and everyone else: only use https from here on out.

      I hope everything worked out for your mom. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

