En Route

About 2 weeks ago I saw a post on Twitter that was calling for runners to be extras in an independent film. I tried to get all of my local running buddies to go with me to no avail. They were all off in exotic places like Arizona, Idaho and Tacoma.

So I put on my big girl panties ultra-tight running tights sans panties (that’s right, I run commando) and went by myself. There were about 15 of us all together and it was BITTER COLD. Of course, I have no idea what the temp was, but I was we were all FREEZING.

It was a little strange. We ran down the block past the main character (and cameraman). Maybe 9 or 10 times? Thankfully it wasn’t any farther because I managed to not pack my sports bra. Whoops.

The whole thing took less than an hour.

As far as I understand, it is an independent film about commuting (or something?) and follows 12(?) different people (untrained actors portraying themselves) as they travel around the city. The director said that it’s blurring the line between documentary and drama (mainly because of staged scenes like the one I participated in)… There is no official site for the film yet, but I’ll share it when the info is passed on to me.

The director looks to be about 17 (which means he’s probably in his mid-30s because I have lost all ability to judge a person’s age), but has done lots of commercial work (Microsoft and other local companies) as well as music videos. Mostly for lots of hipster bands I’ve never heard of (naturally), and Atmosphere, one of my first true music-loves.

here we are, after our scene was done

That’s me in the front, left-ish, in my Brooks Nightlife Essential jacket and my pigtail hat from Bondi Bands (and a long sleeve 1/4 zip top, t-shirt and tank under the jacket, aforementioned running tights, extra thick running socks and gloves). Is it wrong to wear that jacket when I’m not running?  So far I haven’t, but I catch myself reaching for it before anything else. I do not reach for the pigtail hat when I’m not running. Just in case that needed clarification. The guy on the far left if the obviously-not-running-gear was the “actor” that we swarmed.

So this was me stepping outside of my comfort zone and surviving. Sigh of relief.

10 thoughts on “En Route

  1. I’m not sure I’m over the running commando part! That would just result in one angry kitty if that were me. OUCH.

    Woohoo on the new film career, should I be asking for an autograph.

  2. I’m not sure I’m over the running commando part! That would just result in one angry kitty if that were me. OUCH.

    Woohoo on the new film career, should I be asking for an autograph.

    • I’m hoping my budding film career will help convince Michael Caine to adopt me as his granddaughter. It’s the family business, afterall.

      Cotton poses a bigger threat for me. :/

Leave a Reply

