And so it begins

Today marks day 1 of marathon training. My basic plan is:

  • Long runs on Monday
  • speed work or hills on Wednesday
  • tempo runs on Friday
  • short runs on Saturday

Saturdays are my optional run day. I feel that I am better suited for a “less is more” plan, but at the same time I don’t want to overwhelm myself with my long runs and under work myself the rest of the week. There is some “rule” about what percentage of your total weekly miles the long run should be, but I don’t remember what it is. Anyone?

I’m also adding back in P90X, since I apparently love strength training now. Thanks, Tony! I will be doing the “stretch” video later this evening, since I think that will be beneficial once my long runs actually get long. I already did about 10 minutes of foam rolling.

This is a new leaf, people.

Marathon Training Day One: 5 miles in 61 minutes/ 12:12 pace (goal was 12:00), p90x “stretch” dvd (I’ll update this tonight with the exact amount of minutes)

12 thoughts on “And so it begins

    • My husband has Mondays off, and I don’t have to be at work until 11 at the earliest, plus I have no school. It’s a little unorthodox, but it’s perfect for me. 🙂 My alternative would be long runs starting at 3pm on Saturday or Sunday which I tried for exactly one week. lol

    • Confession- I didn’t do it. *Hanging my head in shame* lol I got carried away with homework and cooking.

      My schedule calls for regular old miles tomorrow, the speed & hills will come later. 🙂

    • Confession- I didn’t do it. *Hanging my head in shame* lol I got carried away with homework and cooking.

      My schedule calls for regular old miles tomorrow, the speed & hills will come later. 🙂

Leave a Reply

