Trying something a little different

I think I’ve been under eating. How is this possible you say? I’m not really sure. I eat when I’m hungry. I mostly reach for veggies, fruits, whole grains and cheese. Ok, maybe I reach for the cheese first and plan the rest of my meal around that but I try to keep cheese to about 10% of a meal. Don’t laugh, some days that is a challenge. Cheeses should actually have their own pyramid, and when I take over the universe that will be right near the top of my to-do list.

Starting today, I’m tracking (sort of) what I’m eating. I’m not weighing foods because for me that triggers an unhealthy relationship with food, but I’m writing down a general estimate of what is going in my mouth. I’ve never tracked calories because I feel like it’s a borderline behavior for me. But I’m not doing this as a means to diet, I’m doing it as a method of observation. If I start to feel icky in any way about this the experiment is over.

I did calculate my BMR and calculated what I need to maintain my weight for both moderately active and very active. Despite the fact that I work out a minimum of an hour a day, seven days a week, I don’t feel like I belong in the “very active” category. I also have no desire to maintain all of my current weight, but we’ll deal with that later, preferably after I get my body fat percentage tested. And where would one go to do the hydrostatic testing in the greater Seattle area?

So I’m aiming to eat the maintenance level for mildly active. I’m halfway through my day and I’m 1/3 of the way there. I’m thinking I need a bigger breakfast to avoid night time snacking, but tomorrow’s another day.

Today’s workout: p90x kenpo I really love this one & want to start taking some martial arts classes and I will, but probably not before June or July.

3 thoughts on “Trying something a little different

  1. You're being smart about it, I like this. Writing down everything is so hard to do in my experience. I like how you're going into it with an open mind. It should be successful by just having that attitude.

  2. I started eating a larger, protein-rich breakfast when I started the 4-Hour Body slow-carb diet. It PROFOUNDLY changed the way I eat throughout the rest of the day. Do you eat eggs? If so, try 3 scrambled organic eggs w/ steamed veggies and beans for breakfast. Also, try eating it within 30-60 minutes of waking up.

    I don't know about hydrostatic testing, but they have a Body Pod in Kirkland and I've been toying with the idea of going – interested?

    • Very interested! I'm scurred to go by myself because apparently I am part chicken.

      I do eat eggs (which must also make me at least partially cannibalistic if I am indeed part chicken), but I can't stomach very much in the mornings. I can barely make it through an English muffin. Tomorrow I'm trying a mini breakfast and then a brunch. But now it's lunch time!

Leave a Reply

