Ragnar Relay

 

borrowed from the official site (logo is the background)

 

 

I found out about the Ragnar Relay series what feels like ages ago. I first heard about it in June 2009, and since the local race is held in July there was no way I had enough time to get a team together. That was for the best as it hit 115 in my neighborhood that summer the weekend of the race. It was brutal.

Last year I really wanted to put together a team. I just didn’t know enough runners to get it done. Honestly, I don’t know that I know 11 other runners in real life even now. The best I got out of anyone was a “Yeah… that sounds… cool, I guess.” No passion. No excitement. No go.

There was absolutely no way I was going to let this year go without getting a team together. There might or might not have been some strategic planning regarding my timing on asking people to do this with me (Yes, Brandon. I saw an opportunity and pounced. Are we still cool? 😉 )

Ragnar calls for a team of 12 to run something close to 200 miles over the course of 24 hours. Northwest Passage is just under 190 miles (officially listed as 187, yet basic math says it’s 188.9). We’re running as a team of 6. I cannot even begin to express how excited I am to run with my five teammates. It’s going to be crazy. The good kind of crazy, I am quite sure.

Not all of my teammates have internet addictions blogs, but if you aren’t already following Brandon, Mac and Tara DO IT!!! They are awesome, amazing and inspiring in their own ways (and I will love them all forever for making Ragnar a reality for me).

Stay tuned for periodic Team Optimus Prime updates!

8 thoughts on “Ragnar Relay

  1. I love the team name! If only I had the balls to do something like this. Actually, I do, but I’d need to get my running feet to go faster and farther than they can go right now. Go kick some azz, Team Optimus Prime!

  2. I am SO excited for you guys and can’t wait for this summer. I can’t volunteer overnight but I want to drive a van or bring food or SOMETHING for a least part of it so I can support you all. Wish I could do it with you!

Leave a Reply

