Still here

I’m feeling overwhelmed and under motivated to be blogging now. I’ve got half a dozen posts in the works, but nothing is coming together quite right.

Some crazy family stuff (nothing life threatening) on my husband’s side has left me with the distinct urge to hibernate. Possibly forever.  But it has been three four five six big deal events within the last 2 weeks, so fingers are crossed that the Rule of 7 applies and that the next thing will be a clear-cut good thing.

There was a little self-induced panic on my side when the tornado touched down in St. Louis a few days ago. My older brother and his family live just east of the city and while I instinctively knew they were fine, it stresses me out to not be able to get a hold of people. But all is well.

I have a school update but that will have to be its own post. Teaser: it still makes me stabby.

Running is not really the endorphin producing mental balm that I need/want/expect it to be. At least not these last few runs. I still haven’t figured out a way to refuel on the run. I tried Justin’s almond butter squeeze packs yesterday.

Not awesome for running.

The highlight in the last week or so has been going to get my tattoo touched up. I did not react very well to this tattoo when I first saw it, back in January. The shop apprentice did it. All of my other tattoos were done by artists with at least 12 years of experience. Turns out, that makes a big difference.

It was actually a great experience. She seems to have really come out of her shell as an artist. She had a very light touch back in January which is why I’ve needed a touch up for the last 2 months. Her confidence level was so much higher, and her personality was on display. Love! We talked, we joked, we laughed. The sun was shining.

I can’t seem to get a good picture of it, but she was heavy-handed enough to bruise me this time. (I type that with a smile on my face.) It’s not a terribly impressive bruise, but definitely some yellowing and brownish spots.

 

 

Now on to the rest of the sleeve!

 

 

Really. It’s taking more self-control than I thought to not sell my Fitbloggin’ ticket and just get some more work done on this instead.

Keep trying to remind myself that there is a time and a place for everything.

 

A time and a place.

 

Except my brain almost instantly responds with the RATM lyrics “what better place than here, what better time than now”.

Not that helpful, Brain.

One thought on “Still here

Leave a Reply

