I had one of those perspective altering conversations yesterday. I made an offhand remark to a friend about how I really didn’t want to run. She replied along the lines of ‘but you actually do’. 

Full stop. 

Yes, actually I do want to run. Who cares if I don’t run?

Me.

That’s the list right there. No one is making me do this. I’m not accountable to anyone else when it comes to exercise. So actually, if I don’t want to run, I can leave my butt parked on the couch. 

Even when a run doesn’t meet my expectations, it’s still an ‘I get to’ not an ‘I have to’. 

So, thanks Val. I needed that reminder. 

Leave a Reply

