I’ve been bummed about my runs this week. Not at the pace I’d like them to be, not feeling as comfortable as I want them to be, just generally not as shiny as last Saturday’s race. 

Here’s my reality check:

every.single.last.one of my regular runs involve some degree of a hill. The closest thing the race had to a hill were a few speed bumps in the soul-crushing parking lot laps in the last mile. 

My long run today was exactly on my goal pace. My race last weekend was a full minute per mile faster than what I was expecting it to be, and what I did today.

It’s no wonder that my midweek miles were slower than expected/wanted. It’s clear that I could be pushing harder on my training runs so that’s the new game plan.

 Moving forward. 

Leave a Reply

