boston marathon

I’m not sure what to say. My heart hurts. I have cried for strangers, but that is not new for me. I have cried for the pain, the fear, the survivors’ guilt that is bound to be felt in the days/weeks/months to come. I have cried over the senselessness of violence. 

I have also cried tears of relief at watching the outpouring of love and support within this running community. We are strong. We are united. We are family. 

I ask a lot of questions. Questions breed questions in my mind. When you ask questions you learn that sometimes you don’t like the answer and sometimes there isn’t an answer. I’m not asking questions today. Even when more details are made available, there is nothing that can justify what happened yesterday. I won’t be taking solace in additional information, like I would in happier circumstances.

I am reaching out with love. Because in my mind, that is all there is. My conscious decision to seek the goodness, love, and beauty we are capable of does not blind me to our ability to hurt, hate, and be cruel to each other. But I believe there is much more love in this world. 

If you need love today and in the future, seek it out. Give it when and where you can. Tragedies remind us that our time here is limited and to love as much as we can. The trick is to keep loving as much as you can when the urgency passes. We are more a like than we are different. 

This is the time to be gentle with each other. Everyone processes at different rates. Some people are ready to move forward and not look back. Some people can’t imagine ever reaching that point. No matter where you fall on that spectrum, that’s okay. Please remember that it’s okay for other people to be where they are, too. We all cope in our own ways. We are a community. Our sorrows and triumphs are what bind us together. 

Leave a Reply

