I’ve been working on cross training more seriously for the last nine or so months, starting with a DVD workout routine that is (was?) frequently advertised in late night infomercials and lasts for a total of 90 days, with all sorts of different routines set up in three different goal tracks. 

I finished that, and actually enjoyed it more than I thought I would (pro tip: turn off the music option and crank up something you actually want to listen to that does not sound like the rock n roll version of muzak included. if needed, also mute the talking.)

My cross training has been more haphazard since then. I need heavier weights to continue at home but for some reason weights are expensive and for the stupidest reasons that I cannot fathom, they are mostly sold as singles. WHY. Two hands = two weights. 

Or I could just join the gym I’ve been meaning to join for the last 6 months. I don’t have the best track record with gym memberships, which is what has held me back for so long. But I think Husband and I are going to join. We made a supersecret (aka I’ll blog about it later) exercise pact so I think it’s time. 

I’ve used a few workout apps, which I really like. But I’ve also been less reliable about holding myself to a routine in the last few weeks. (Go all the way upstairs to change? Then come all the way back downstairs to sweat? Nahhh.) Brain flash: this probably correlates to the time when my likelihood of being in Alaska to race this weekend started taking a nosedive. 

This has been my very long winded way of saying I signed myself up for Tina’s Best Body Bootcamp. I need some accountability. The community support aspect is less important to me at this point, but I’m sure I will reach a point where I really need it. 

We started off with a fitness pretest which included pushups, wall squat, plank, burpees, and a mile run. 

It reaffirmed that my upper body strength is not on the same page as my lower body. 

Even better, I don’t feel like comparing my results with anyone else’s abilities. They are bench marks so I can see improvement over time. (Yes, duh, I know that but knowing it intellectually and experiencing it are different things and this is a big step for me)

Instead of feeling bad about where I am, I’m hungry for more. So on that note, I’m off to get in a little workout during nap time. 

Leave a Reply

